Vivid Project Brief (Live)

It’s time to get serious, which means no more little bracket into bits to these blogs, because now it’s real work!

Yes, the time is finally upon me, where the world will bare witness to my impressive graphical skills, and eloquent typographical displays! (haha…)

My project was set to me by the Sheffield design company, Vivid – on behalf of the Festival of Science and Engineering, hosted within Sheffield.

Note from my briefing are as follows:

  • The logo and typeface of the project cannot be changed
  • Utilise the rich library of pictures that the team has sent to me
  • Make it appeal more to adults than to kids – but still keep kids involved
  • Look at creating a Twitter Skin, Animating the logo and creating a mock site
  • The Colour Scheme will be extremely important for this project, as it will be one of the few design element I can freely mess with.
  • Lastly, the 3 points to be completed by the half-stage are an A3 poster, Colour Scheme, and a re-coloured logo.

So with that all inmind, I set about my task, with the first and most logical step.

Stage 1: Planning

20170322_113409

So, here’s a poor screenshot of my actual  non-condensed notes, most of them in reference to the colour scheme of the whole piece. My initial ideas were to draw upon conventions of ‘science’, using blues, whites and yellows inspired by The Institute from Fallout 4, and Westworld’s hidden lab from the 2016 reboot of the original Westworld.

12659-3-1464048174

westworld-episode-5-photos-the-adversary-lab-techs-700x467

Which I believe COULD hold some merit and may be worth revisiting later, however, I think I should explore outside of ‘conventional’ ideas at first.

So what IS conventional? When thinking of science, many would say white and blue, due to their clinical colours.

So, what about Engineering? Personally, I see engineering as a crimson, with a mustard yellow, but many have also said orange and ‘bluey-grey’

Stage 2: Development

So, putting the colour on the back-burner, I set about creating the A3 Poster for the event, seeing what colours might work in that environment might help with the over-all colour scheme. While look through at the assets that had been sent to me, I noticed a few pictures that caught my eye that could be built upon to create an eye catching poster. One such being an image of a skeleton, wearing a stethoscope. This will serve as the first poster for this project.

Sfose Posters

Followed swiftly by a follow up poster:

Sfose Posters2

and thanks to those, I now have my basic colour scheme. The old blue/orange combo, interspersed with chevrons. Simple and effective. Now, while doing this, It’ worth taking a look at the logo’s new colours. Originally, the colour’s featured a gradient which makes most people’s eyes ache when they look at it. Thankfully, the brief gave scope for us to change that. Here is a comparison of the original and the new one, side by side:

While I still dislike the logo, I much prefer the orange and blue variation, simply due to it’s appealing scheme. But, I decided to go one step beyond, and create what I felt is a superior logo, which still captured the feeling of ‘science and technology’.

New logo V2

BY THE POWER OF ATOM! Obviously, this retains the stylistic choices of the original, even down to the nut – however, I decided to that the ‘eye’ looking bubbles could be replaces, and used as the nuclei of an atom – as I feel this adds some much needed flair to the image. Despite this, the client requested that the logo not be changed in any official works, and I shall gladly oblige.

With the logo and colour scheme sorted out, now it’s onto the main crux of this project: The leaflet. I’ve done plenty of double page spreads in the past, each of them looking visually impressive (in my opinion) but now I had to take it a step beyond. For the interior of the leaflet, I wanted to keep the theme of Chevrons, images and  the blue, white and orange colour scheme going.

However, while designing the leaflet, I ran into a problem:

Email to paul evidence

Now, despite my lack of the entire type family, I soldiered on, creating the following as a cover page – one that, I feel captures both the eyes of children and adults alike:

Cover

The colours are the main contributor to the appeal, although, the chevron pattern catches the eye and leads it towards the centre of the image – that of a young girl, reaching out with a look of intrigue and wonder on her face, a feeling which I’d hope to mirror within the audience, with the strap-line ‘Come and see what you could learn’, the colour highlights of: ‘Come and… learn’ hearken back to the advert ran by The Sheffield College:may201720open20day20slider_0

and it’s rounded font being nice and child friendly, as well as keeping in theme of my Client.

Time to start on the Twitter identity and, by this point I could use the schemes and patterns discerned from my initial designs are carry them universally throughout the project. Using the logo I already made/modified for the leaflet.

Laptop Twitter Cutdown

Above is the laptop form of the header, below is the desktop view..

Twitter-01-Desktop-Profile Cutdown

and lastly is the mobile view:

Twitter-03-Mobile-Profile cutdown

So, what’s to say about this? The scientific cyan background, overlaid with alternating chevrons, with orange text all keeping in theme and design of the rest of the brand pallet. The logo too, remains unchanged and as the centre-point of the Avatar, that too laced with chevrons to carry the pattern on wards in both the desktop and laptop variants. The exception lying with the mobile Twitter, given it’s size difference in regards to the other headers.

Eagle-eyed observers may note that the avatar and backgrounds are ever-so-slightly different shades. This was intentionally done with the intent of drawing the readers eye to the images, even subconsciously.

Now, to the mock-up site. At the start of this project, I was dreading this more than most of the other objectives given my track record – Still, it was the clients wish, and so shall it be done:

Site - full image evidence

Being a mock-up, it only required the landing page designing, which you see above. The same themes once more, carried over into this design

Vivid would also like a shirt design mocking up for them, which I can happily oblige with. This idea came to me while looking up Crosshatch clothing – just because i needed a new t-shirt – and an idea hit me. This is for Sheffield, and while I dislike perpetuating the idea that Sheffield is ‘The Steel City’ it is one of it’s most memorable and well-known’Selling points’ and could easily be made into a ‘science and engineering’ definition.

The Chemical Compound for Steel is: Fe C – Fe, being Iron and C being Carbon.

I was toying with the idea of making a shirt revolving around the idea of being: ‘Made of C Fe’, possibly with the being a deep ultramarine with white lines, to represent a blueprint.

Ultimately I decided that this design would look too convoluted and instead, opted for a simplistic design, revolving around the idea of what a human is made from:

The left hand shirt is the front, the right; the back. While I do like this design, I feel like something is missing, and will revisit this part of the project at a later point – time permitting.

At this point I presented my work to the client for the mid-point critique, who said that he loved everything that I was producing! Huzza! However, he did have one critiques…

I needed to put my works insituae, such as on billboards and bus stops.

So, let’s get on with it!

The In-sitaeu work was good as it didn’t take too long, and will help not only the credibility of the brand, but also look extremely professional – exactly what any client would want!

 

However, I ran into a small problem: most of the appropriate bus stop adverts were all oriented portrait, whereas my poster designs were in landscape.

…With every problem comes an opportunity to prove ones self, and here is my attempt!

Bus Stop Ad.jpg

 

I redesigned the first poster from the start of this project, to whats I feel, is good effect. Showing this to the client, along with the rest of my work proved a success and they rated me highly!

 

This was just a taster of things to come in my (hopefully) extensive design career!

Onward and upwards, ad infinitum!

Leave a Reply

